15 January… An Important Update

I’ve been having a big think over the last couple of days.

I said in the first post of this blog I didn’t have much of a plan; that I would simply be telling my day to day stories, as sort of a diary.  And what could be simpler, right? That is what I have been doing.

And I’ve loved it.

But I also said that I hadn’t quite figured exactly what a daily blog would mean for me.  I saw this picture today and it was so relatable.

fullsizeoutput_10fa.jpeg

Spongebob I feel you. But I’ve been having a think.

Yes, it is probably one of the least creative blog ideas of all time, but I’ve started to find myself being drawn to writing about fashion, fitness and lifestyle in general.  It’s what I want to talk about, and fitness and fashion are definitely what I’m inspired by every day.  So over the next few days or so, I’ll be working on figuring out how exactly I’m going to go about all of that.  I still want to keep my blog daily and I’m not sure how my content will fit into it all – I might not change much at all –  but it is exciting times!!

— I’ll keep you all update — 

Back to today, though.  I went and saw La La Land.  Has anyone else seen it yet?

img_0516

I don’t think that it is a film that I would have got round to seeing (mainly out of pure laziness) if Glen hadn’t mentioned before that he wanted to go, but it was decided.  What better way is there to spend a lazy Sunday – and the last day before the second and last semester begins (FYI; still doesn’t feel real).

Overall, I did enjoy the film.  I’m sure director Damien Chazelle will be very pleased to hear.  It’s a sort-of modern musical set in LA that focuses on a budding actress and composer and the relationship that they have with each other.  More deeply, the film explores how they could go about achieving their dreams and “change the world”(#GOALS) .  I can see how the film would be inspiring for many, possibly including myself since I’ve came straight back to writing about refining my blog.  The characters have so much motivation and a brilliant work ethic to get to where they know they should be.  I’m sure that’s something we all wish we could do.

It was also a pleasure to watch, visually.  The dance routines, beautiful locations and costume designs were so nice just to look at, almost worth going to see just for those.  It was also interesting to see how they mixed classic musical/50s vibes with a contemporary story set more or less today.  The 12-year-old me would have lived for that mix.

I don’t want to spoil the plot but I would say that if you’re heading to the cinema any time soon, it is probably worth a view.  Oh, and the absolute sweeping of awards surely can’t be wrong?

Leave a Reply

