Blogging – What I’ve Learned So Far

This is my 43rd post.

That number might not seem particularly significant, but I’m having some ‘Sunday night reflections’ and I’ve just realised that’s how many posts I’ve written and I feel like I need to talk about this.  Like, what even.  It amazes (and slightly worries) me that I’ve managed to ramble that much in the space of 6 weeks, but here’s what I’ve taken from it so far..

BLOGGING TAKES TIME

Cap locks – because it is that important to know.  Each post takes about an hour to write/add photos/edit, and if I allow myself to get distracted – which I almost always do – it becomes an even longer process.  It would appear that I have a lot more time than I thought…

You can achieve a lot in a day

Speaking of time… Yes, you might think that you’re “too busy”, and writing everyday/week could never work, but it’s amazing how much time you actually have when you stop stalking social media or having regular Netflix marathons.  Remember:  You have the same number of hours in the day as Beyoncé. Make sure that you take time to work on yourself and your skills.

Coming up with post ideas is HARD

A different topic??  Everyday?!!!  I knew it wouldn’t be easy.  Back before I started publishing, I always thought that I could fall back on talking about my day when I struggled for ideas.  And I will probably start getting into that when I do stuff with my days other than work/library. But lately, I honestly do so so little that could even remotely be considered interesting, I couldn’t publish it here. And that is when I need to fully turn my brain on and find some inspiration.

Personalising your blog is great fun

I mean, if you don’t love looking at it, how can you expect anyone else to? About three weeks-ishhh into this, I actually discovered how to customise my blog. To some degree anyway – I would still change a few things if I could fully work out how to use WordPress, but I’m happy enough for now.  Although speaking of WordPress, I don’t think I’ll ever figure out the reader/tag-searching functions.  Maybe some time in the next 43 days…

Blogging is rewarding!

The proof is in the pudding, guys.  Of course it is enjoyable and rewarding to do.  How do I know?  Because I am definitely not stubborn enough to put this much work into something just to prove some sort of point.  It’s a great feeling of satisfaction to publish something, especially when you’re writing about a topic that you’re really in to.  And it’s even better to find other bloggers who share your interests.

So I’m now about a tenth of the way through my year of daily blogging, and I can say that I’ve learned loads and developed my skills so much (yayy).  I still have lots to figure out and improve on, but maybe I’ll do another review on day 86 and see where I’m at by then.

Some final advice would be to channel the quote above; “Do less with more FOCUS” and who knows what you can achieve.  Keep working for those goals!!

Leave a Reply

