Quick and healthy Banana Cookie recipe!

I’m sick of breakfast.

Dun dun DUUUUUUN. 

I never thought I’d see the day where I wouldn’t want some variation of eggs and avocado in the morning, but for the last few days I’ve not been feeling it.

After my morning run, I needed something to eat – and fast.  So I drew from my bare cupboards what I could and decided to go for a really quick and simple recipe I’ve not made in a long time – banana cookies!

Ingredients (makes 8):

2 bananas

150g oats

optional add-ins:  vanilla extract, chocolate chips, raisins, spices, dried fruit – anything really!

They have the carby satisfaction that comes with banana bread, but they are much healthier, and take a maximum of 20 minutes to make.

STEP ONE

Blend the oats until they have a flour-like consistency.

IMG_3036.JPG

STEP TWO

Mash the bananas up in a bowl (or in my case, in some Tupperware).

IMG_8301.JPG

STEP THREE

Add in the oat “flour” and any extras (I went for vanilla extract, cinnamon and ginger), and mix it all together.

img_0610

STEP FOUR

Spoon the mixture into equal balls and place onto a greased baking tray.

IMG_1246.JPG

STEP FIVE

Bake in the oven (180º fan oven) for 10-15 minutes.

And then enjoy!!!

img_1233

I had half of these with a mug of green tea and I was surprisingly full for at least the next three hours.  Not bad for a two ingredient breakfast!  I’m going to try and makes these again when I have chocolate chips and raisins in, because I imagine the flavours would go really well with the recipe.

So all in all, a good easy breakfast, and I’ve kept the rest wrapped up in a cool, dark cupboard ready for tomorrow!

Does anyone have a favourite go-to breakfast?  Let me know!

 

 

Leave a Reply

