Pepper and tomato breakfast muffins

Day 2 of cooking with Saz.

Today’s endeavour? Pepper and tomato breakfast muffins!

Okay, I’ve not been planning to make all this food recently – all this motivation for baking in the mornings has really came out of nowhere.  Or maybe it’s something to do with my cupboards being completely bare and having no other options, hmm.  But these are virtually carb-free and really tasty, so why not.

I’ve called today’s snacks breakfast muffins because I’m sure that they would be great first thing, but since I still had my cookies to munch on, they came with me to uni as a wee packed lunch.

Again, I focused mainly on using up what I had left in the fridge – FYI, these were perfect for that.

Ingredients (makes 8):

2 eggs

Dash of milk or milk alternative

One bell pepper (choose your favourite colour!)

One tomato

One red onion

Cheese (choose your favourite!)

Salt and pepper

Optional:  any other veg, chicken, salmon, additional spices (chilli flakes, anyone?)

STEP ONE

Chop your vegetables and sort them into cupcake tray.

IMG_8253.JPG

STEP TWO

Mix 2 eggs with dash of milk (I used my leftover soya milk from pancake day!) and season.

IMG_4282.JPG

STEP THREE

Spoon the egg mixture over the vegetables in equal measures.

img_5844

STEP FOUR

Add cheese (I only had cheddar, but feta would be great too), and more spices if required.

img_0111

STEP FIVE

Bake for 15-20mins (fan 180º).

img_2320
Tahh-Dahh

and optional STEP SIX

Put the muffins in a tub with some carrots and hummus to take for your lunch that day.

img_6274

Meal prepping? Completed it, mate. 

Seriously though, tomorrow it will be straight to Aldi after work so that I’m not caught short each day with nothing to eat.

The last few days have given me some inspiration though, so maybe I’ll keep trying out my creativity next week.  Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

