What I’m watching on Netflix

First of all, my satellite is still down so I’ve been watching a lot less TV over the past few weeks.  But one thing I can’t give up is a wee Netflix session before bed.

111netflix

I’m pretty unadventurous on the app, and rarely watch any of new boxsets that get added.  I’ve still not gotten round to watching some of the big ‘classics’, like Breaking Bad and OITNB.  I’ve hardly even watched the Fresh Prince of Bel-Air to relive my childhood since it’s been added.  It just seems like a lot of effort to get into a new series, although I know how addictive any show can get once you’re hooked.

However, something that I’m glad I watched this week was The Theory of Everything.  I’ve wanted to watch this for a while but with a running time of 2+ hours, and a boyfriend who had no interest in watching it, it seemed like a long time to dedicate to watching something myself.  But after a long day at uni, I went for it.  It tells the story of Stephen Hawkins from the age of 21 to roughly present day.  For all everyone knows roughly who Stephen Hawkins is and his theories, I realised that I knew very little about how he actually became the famous scientist that we know today.  And I’ll watch anything with Felicity Jones in it.

The film as a whole was really good and engaging, although it did leave me feeling a bit sad when it was finished.  No spoilers here – you’ll have to watch it to find out why!

Something that I’m perhaps not so glad I watched this week was Gilmore Girls.  I know everyone is obsessed, but I don’t get it – not yet anyway.  It tells the story of a young single mum and her 16-year-old daughter and their pretty average life in Connecticut.  There are quick-witted comments every second sentence that are kind of amusing but also can be a bit jarring at times, and I can’t focus for more than 3 minutes of the 45-min show before I pick up my phone and search for some sort of other entertainment.  So far, I’ve gotten through maybe 3 or 4 episodes, but I’m unsure whether to carry on or not.  Any fans out there who can assure me that it’s worth watching?

Quick update:  It’s been a week since I vowed to add healthy drinks into my daily routine.  I tried all the ones I mention here, but the only drink that I really stuck to was lemon and hot water.  I’m currently drinking my second cup of today!  EVERYONE, I would recommend it, as the flavour is a lot stronger than most green teas, but it has the same freshness and feeling of ‘I’m doing good to my body right now’.  Try it with a bag of lemons on £1 in Aldi.  Bargain.

One thought on “What I’m watching on Netflix

Leave a Reply

