Library ‘politics’???

Three weeks ago I said that I’d just experienced my last ever fire drill at uni.  I was wrong.

After being in the library for about two hours today, my eardrums were BURST by a loud siren.  Fire alarm.  I’ve never experienced one of these before without a tutor to clarify that we did actually have to go outside, and to be honest with you I didn’t even know where the fire exits in my library were.  After a minute or so, a member of staff came round and told us we were evacuating and where to go.

But standing out in the cold for 15 minutes wasn’t even the worst of it.  I had taken my bag but left my books on my desk, and when I returned, someone who had been sitting near my had moved my books to another desk and taken my seat.  Why?  Because it was at one of the only plug sockets in the area that I’m in.  Either that, or they’re just really into moving people’s stuff.

I’m not going to lie, I was shocked.  And then angry.  It is difficult enough to get through all the coursework without having to worry about finding somewhere to plant my charger.  And today I had found somewhere.  I’d got here early just for that reason!

It made me think about what common curtesy is.  I would never move someone’s stuff just to get a seat.  I wouldn’t think of touching another person’s stuff.  But is that normal?  Is it a dog-eat-dog world inside the university library that I’ve been completely oblivious to these past four years?!  Or are some people just a wee bit rude.  It’s probably the latter.

The person mumbled ‘sorry’ to me and I was too stunned to respond and I did just end up moving, but I’m not sure if that was the right way to act.  I don’t know if I should have said something and risked causing a scene on the silent floor of the library.  Luckily for them, I’ve not been doing anything too taxing on my laptop and the battery is holding up alright.

Hmm *rant over*.

X

Leave a Reply

