Five reasons to (periodically) delete Instagram

We all probably have Instagram on our phones and check it a few times a day. 

I certainly do and I used to be a lot more caught up in it until I decided – about a year ago – to delete it once and for all (well…).

I stayed clear of the app for six months and it definitely made a difference.  Now I’m back on, I find periodically deleting it for a few days or weeks at a time to be a great idea.

Why?

  1. Clearer head

Being on Instagram can lead me down a path I don’t want to go down but deleting can leave you with an ‘out of sight out of mind’ type vibe. And breaaatheeeee…

  1. Less comparisons

I’m sure I’m not alone in feeling perfectly fine and happy until I start scrolling through my Instagram feed. 

I made a general rule to only follow people I know or pages I find inspiring, but that discover page can leave me jumping from one prime and proper account to another. 

  1. MORE TIME

The amount of minutes, hours, evenings wasted spend scrolling is quite frankly shocking.  Checking up on things and stalking old photos of random people can really eat into the tv schedule. 

  1. Less stress when going out

Every now and then, you may end up going out unexpectedly which means maybe  not looking your best.

It’s all fun and spontaneity until OH NO, what will I take an Instagram of?  When the app isn’t there, you can be happy in the knowledge no one has a clue what you’re up to and, at that moment, I promise you won’t care what anyone else is doing either.

  1. Perspective

Without other people’s lives to think about, you have time to think about your own and realise exactly what you want to be doing. 

It all works out in the end!

Leave a comment